Follow by Email

Monday, March 5, 2012


Feb. 22, 2012: HONOLULU – The state Department of Transportation (HDOT) recently designated two new Hawaii Scenic Byways and has issued a call for applications for additional corridors.

“Committed community partners are essential for applications to be successful,” said David Zevenbergen, Hawaii Scenic Byways Coordinator. “The goal is to preserve, protect, and enhance these corridors, roads that tell a story for the benefit of all.”

Scenic byways include a defined route for passenger vehicles, as well as sights that can be seen from, or are reasonably close to the road. Hawaii Island’s Kau Scenic Byway—The Slopes of Mauna and Kauai’s Holo Holo Koloa Scenic Byway were recently designated, bringing the state’s total to four (4).

The Kau Scenic Byway—The Slopes of Mauna Loa, along Highway 11, is the route from Manuka State Park in Kona (west end) to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park (east end). The road rises from sea level to more than 4,000 feet. At 54 miles long, this is the longest stretch of unspoiled natural scenery in the Hawaiian Islands.

The Kau Scenic Byway sponsor is Kau Chamber of Commerce. The Holo Holo Koloa Scenic Byway is sponsored by Hui Malama o Koloa.

The Kau Scenic Byway is the third Hawaii Island designee. “Mamalahoa Kona Heritage Corridor” (Old Mamalahoa Highway) was the state's first scenic byway, designated in 2009. In 2010, HDOT designated "Royal Footsteps Along the Kona Coast" (Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona) as the second Hawaii Scenic Byway.

Holo Holo Koloa Scenic Byway, the State’s most recent byway, is more than 19 miles long and connects many historical and cultural sites representing a microcosm of pre-contact and post-contact Hawaii. The Koloa-Poipu area is a premier destination on Kauai, with a dedicated community that is looking forward to rediscovering its past and educating residents and visitors regarding its rich historic legacy.

Nomination applications for 2012 Hawaii Scenic Byway designation are due March 31, 2012. Interested community groups can get information from the recently launched website:

The National Scenic Byways Program was established under the U.S. Department of Transportation's Federal Highway Administration in 1991, and includes 150 designated National Scenic Byways and All-American Roads in 46 states (

No comments:

Post a Comment